Will Butler announces Friday Night live record, and video

Will Butler - Friday Night. Artwork by Broad City’s Abbi Jacobson.

Will Butler – Friday Night. Artwork by Broad City’s Abbi Jacobson.

Will Butler had been promising a live record would be released and today it was announced via his record label Merge Records. The album ‘Friday Night’ (MRG574) will be released on June 17th. The official blurb with all the info and the live video released:

On June 17, Will Butler returns with Friday Night, an album of live performances from Butler’s tour supporting his debut album, Policy. Recorded mostly at Lincoln Hall in Chicago on June 4, 2015, Friday Night includes five brand-new songs, five from Policy, and two songs he wrote for The Guardian newspaper last year. Watch a live performance video of “Take My Side” from the Policy tour below.

Capturing the energy of the dynamite Will Butler band was the major inspiration for this release. Miles Arntzen (EMEFE, Antibalas) played drums (standing up at a full kit—he didn’t use a hi-hat pedal, so he could stand on that leg while working the kick drum with the other), Julie Shore played synth bass, and Sara Dobbs played synth leads and Mellotron pads. Everybody sang backing vocals.

Will wrote of the album: Think of this as a comedy record. In some ways literally—Brooklyn comedian Jo Firestone does the introduction and the “solo” in “Friday Night”—but also, it’s an album based on working out ideas in a room full of people, playing off their energy and expectations. It’s about taking complicated emotions and wringing communal joy from them, and then translating that joy onto record. So here you go!

Featuring artwork by Broad City’s Abbi Jacobson, Friday Night is the perfect companion to Policy and an exciting look ahead to what we can expect from Will Butler. Pre-order Friday Night now on CD or LP in the Merge store along with an exclusive tote bag designed by Will himself or digitally at iTunes.

Friday Night tracklist:
1. Encore – Tell Me We’re All Right
2. Introduction
3. You Must Be Kidding
4. Son of God
5. Sun Comes Up
6. Madonna Can’t Save Me Now
7. Something’s Coming
8. Anna
9. II
10. Sing to Me
11. Public Defender
12. Take My Side
13. Encore – Friday Night

Please note LP preorders will ship to arrive on or around August 5. CDs will ship to arrive on or around the release date of June 17.

Previous post

2003 incarnation of Arcade Fire

Next post

New song from Jeremy