The Hunger Games: Original Motion Picture Score

The Hunger Games: Original Motion Picture Score (score). Win Butler and Régine Chassagne composed a piece, “Horn of Plenty”, for it.

01. The Hunger Games
02. Katniss Afoot
03. Reaping Day
04. The Train
05. Entering the Capitol
06. Preparing the Chariots
07. Horn of Plenty
08. Penthouse/training
09. Learning the Skills
10. The Countdown
11. Booby Trap
12. Healing Katniss
13. Rue’s Farewell
14. We Could Go Home
15. Searching for Peeta
16. The Cave
17. Muttations
18. Tenuous Winners / Returning Home

 Artist  James Newton Howard
 Release  The Hunger Games (Original Motion Picture Score) [score]
 Format  CD, digital download
 Release date  27 March 2012
 Catalogue number  B 001657902
 Label  Universal Republic Records
 Note Horn of Plenty, track 7, was composed by Arcade Fire’s Win Butler and Régine Chassagne. Win Butler: “We were interested in making music that would be more integral in the movie, just as a mental exercise. And there’s an anthem that runs throughout the books, the national anthem of the fascist Capitol. So as a thought experiment, we tried to write what that might sound like. It’s like the Capitol’s idea of itself, basically. It’s not a pop song or anything – more of an anthem that could be playing at a big sporting event like the Games. So we did a structure for that, and then James Newton Howard made a movie-score version of it that happens in several places in the film”.

The choir in Horn of Plenty is London Voices.