Will Butler - Friday Night

Will Butler – Friday Night (live album). The artwork was made by Abbi Jacobson (from the tv show Broad City).

01. Encore – Tell Me We’re All Right
02. Introduction
03. You Must Be Kidding
04. Son of God
05. Sun Comes Up
06. Madonna Can’t Save Me Now
07. Something’s Coming
08. Anna
09. II
10. Sing to Me
11. Public Defender
12. Take My Side
13. Encore – Friday Night

 Artist  Will Butler
 Release  Friday Night (live album)
 Format  12″ vinyl, CD, digital download
 Release date  17 June 2016
 Catalogue number  Vinyl: MRG574LP | CD: MRG574CD
 Label  Merge Records
 Note The official blurb:
On June 17, Will Butler returns with Friday Night, an album of live performances from Butler’s tour supporting his debut album, Policy. Recorded mostly at Lincoln Hall in Chicago on June 4, 2015, Friday Night includes five brand-new songs, five from Policy, and two songs he wrote for The Guardian newspaper last year.

Capturing the energy of the dynamite Will Butler band was the major inspiration for this release. Miles Arntzen (EMEFE, Antibalas) played drums (standing up at a full kit—he didn’t use a hi-hat pedal, so he could stand on that leg while working the kick drum with the other), Julie Shore played synth bass, and Sara Dobbs played synth leads and Mellotron pads. Everybody sang backing vocals.

Will wrote of the album: Think of this as a comedy record. In some ways literally—Brooklyn comedian Jo Firestone does the introduction and the “solo” in “Friday Night”—but also, it’s an album based on working out ideas in a room full of people, playing off their energy and expectations. It’s about taking complicated emotions and wringing communal joy from them, and then translating that joy onto record. So here you go!

Featuring artwork by Broad City’s Abbi Jacobson, Friday Night is the perfect companion to Policy and an exciting look ahead to what we can expect from Will Butler. Pre-order Friday Night now on CD or LP in the Merge store along with an exclusive tote bag designed by Will himself.

Black Merge zippered tote made from 100% cotton yarn at Enviro-Tote. The artwork on this bag was created by Will Butler himself, and this is the sixth in a series of totes designed by Merge Records artists.

Please note LP preorders will ship to arrive on or around August 5. CDs will ship to arrive on or around the release date of June 17.